You are here: Home | About us | How the Fund works | How the Fund works

How the Fund works

Pension Board

The Pension Board was introduced following governance changes required by the Public Services Pensions Act 2013 and the Local Government Pension Scheme (Governance) (Scotland) Regulations 2014.

Remit of the Pension Board 

The board comprises of ten members, five members from the employer bodies and five members from trade unions representing members within the pension funds as set out in the regulations. 

The role of the Pension Board is to help ensure that the operation of the pension funds is in accordance with the applicable law and regulation.

Pension Board membership 


Employer Representatives E-mail
Darren May (Scottish Water) darren.may@scottishwater.co.uk 
Alan Williamson (Edinburgh College) alan.williamson@edinburghcollege.ac.uk
Sharon Cowle (Scottish Legal Complaints Commission) Sharon.Cowle@scottishlegalcomplaints.org.uk
Sharon Dalli (Scottish Police Authority) sharon.dalli@scotland.pnn.police.uk
Member Representatives  E-mail
Jim Anderson (Unison)   jimanderson.loki@gmail.com
Thomas Carr Pollock (GMB)  Thomas.carr-pollock@westlothian.gov.uk 
Brian Robertson (Unite) Brian.Robertson2@unitetheunion.org
Tom Howorth

Tom.Howorth@unison-edinburgh.org.uk


Constitutional Documentation

Links to the relevant documentation for the operation of the Pension Board are: